Team Lozier Love

0

Team Lozier Gift of Love

Today I received the most unbelievable gift from my friends– love.  I just can’t put into words how much it means to me to know that such wonderful human beings are in my corner, loving me, rooting for me, supporting me, laughing with me, crying with me, and letting me just be me.  Below is my email thanking them for this amazing gift. Every single person in the picture (including the kids and the babies!) are wearing a “Team Lozier” t-shirt.

Dear Team Lozier,
I simply do not know what to say. I fear that a simple email can never truly be enough to express my gratitude at the greatest gift that anybody has ever given me– love.

Today I received my “Team Lozier” bulletin board, complete with all of you wonderful human beings in the best t-shirts that I have possibly ever seen (!), with the most inspirational and loving notes attached to it. As I opened the cardboard and mounds of bubble wrap, I could never have imagined what would be inside! Tears immediately began to stream down my face as I looked at each and every picture, exclaiming to myself each time, “OH! Look who it is!” — As all of my amazing friends look up at me with huge supportive smiles on your faces. I can’t even imagine the time, effort, coordination, and love that it took to get the t-shirts, take the pictures, compile the board and the notes, etc. And even your kids are wearing the Team Lozier t-shirts to boot! How amazing.

I wish that you could all feel what is in my heart right now… It’s bursting with so much love, and so much gratitude and appreciation for each and every single one of you. I wish that I could say that each day since the diagnosis of cancer has been easy, or inspirational, but I don’t think that anybody would ever expect that. There have been mounds of fear, doubt, anger, and sadness. But thankfully, that is not every day. There are also lots of days where I feel joy, laughter, spirit, determination, and an overwhelming sense that this is just the beginning of the story. I still sometimes catch myself singing along to a favorite song on the radio, tickling Sean or laughing with him during a movie, being excited about our new house, or eagerly anticipating a much-needed phone call or hug from one of you, and it reminds me that I am ALIVE. A HUGE part of remembering this has been about all of you– knowing, even if we don’t talk every day, that you are thinking about me and sending out your prayers, positive energy, and love directly to me for good health, healing, mending, and peace. I will never, ever be able to tell you what that means to me, but I can say that no cancer patient can ever do this alone… I need ALL of you.

To be able to say that I am far from alone feels simply wonderful… I feel all of you with me each day, and knowing that I don’t have to go through treatments, appointments, scans, and feeling under the weather by myself is a gift that I treasure far beyond anything else materialistic in my life. I know that no matter what happens, you will love me, support me, and believe in me. And I want you to know that I’m doing everything that I feel that I can g-d willing at this point in my life to shrink these tumors and to keep on living my good (no make that exceptional) life.

Just for fun, I counted up all of the years of friendship between us, and it came to 326 years!! Isn’t that unbelievable?! But whether we’ve known each other for 36 years or 36 months, I treasure our relationships, our conversations, our ability to pick up right where we left off, and our funny, loving memories, of which there are just so many! I’m not quite sure how I got so lucky in the friend, family, and love department– But I count those blessings every day. And when things get tough, I think about all of the fun that we’re going to have in the future together as well… Not just with the “big” things in life, but even just with a cup of coffee, together, you and me. This is the stuff that life is made of– the sweet moments between friends, family, and loved ones. There is so much more to enjoy together.

I can never, ever thank you enough. If I could, I would sleep with the bulletin board underneath my pillow every night. :)

With the most deep-rooted love, hope, joy, and inspiration,
Sam xoxo

Leave a Reply

