Our little secret…

Dear Diary,
Day 6. I have come to realize that this “detox,” just like any other diet change that you may make in your life, should be taken with a grain of hotdog. Uh, I mean salt. Salt! Trying to be perfect often results in anything but, and beating yourself up for it just takes away the joy of whatever you did in-the-moment that you did because you wanted to enjoy life. As Kris Carr says, “Do you have to be perfect? NO. Again, your goal is to fill your well more than you deplete it. Our bodies forgive the detours and exploration, as long as they don’t take place 24-7.” In the past 6 days I have had 15 + fruits, veggies, nuts and seeds!

All of that is to say, dear diary, that I had a little “detour” as Kris says. OK, yes, I cheated. Oh, I cheated something “awful” last night when SHL and I went to the Red Sox game. And it was pre-meditated! On the way to the park last night I said to myself, “We usually go to one Sox game a season, and I just looove the hotdogs there!” So I went off of the no-meat detox plan, and not only did I eat a hotdog (with mustard), but I loved every bite of it! I realized that dipping my toes into the carnivore way of life once in a while is not such a bad thing– as long as I am filling my well up most of the time with lots of other goodies, like blueberries, tomatoes, beans, and chia seeds. The “splurge” actually felt great, because I knew that when I woke up this morning, I wouldn’t feel deprived of my one Fenway Frank a year, but instead, I’d be more apt to get back on track (as I sit here debating about what to have for breakfast– yogurt or a smoothie?–, already dressed in my workout clothes. Trying to decide if I should do my cardio inside or outside today, as it looks just beautiful out today).

Diary, I’m not going to lie and say that I’m sad that the detox will be over tomorrow, but I do hope that I’ve learned something. The lesson last night was that it is perfectly fine to indulge once in a while in a favorite so that you don’t feel like you’re missing out on something that not only tastes so good, but also conjures up a lot of happy memories (which some foods do, don’t they?).

Sincerely,
This will be our little secret

Sam and the hotdog Diary, I know that you won’t tell anyone! ;)

Leave a Reply

