The Maine Thing

OK, so it’s been like a bajillion years since I last blogged. Well, about 2 weeks, but I guess it feels like longer. This past weekend my Mom and I took our annual mother-daughter trip, which was fantastic. Some years, when I’ve been able to take a week off of work, we’ve done some trips abroad (Peru, Iceland, Costa Rica, and Belize). But the last few years with only a couple of days to take we’ve stayed more locally, which makes it easier to get in more time relaxing, and less time traveling. This year we decided that October would be a beautiful month to head up to Rockland, Maine, and indeed it was. The fall foliage was at it’s height, with mostly golden yellow and bright red leaves (kind of like a McIntosh apple!) lining the property where we stayed. One day we took a walk out to the jetty in the back of the resort, leading to a lighthouse.

Jetty

The view from our room. Good Morning Maine!

Our view

The day was so warm, with a few sailboats dotting the horizon, and kayakers seemed to love the calm bay. Another day we went to the Farnsworth Art Museum and ate lunch in town. We enjoyed dinner out at restaurants called Primo (the ultimate in farm-to-table) and In Good Company (the eggplant and parmesan soup was so yummy and creative!), and I loved the fruit smoothie at the resort with the acai and the blackberries.

Fruit smoothie

My Mom and I get along like two peas in a pod, so traveling with her is always a joy, and never, ever stressful. We’re on the same wavelength, from what activities we feel like doing, to what we feel like eating, to handling little snafu’s (like the smoke alarm chirping just as we were getting ready to go to sleep one night!).

Veggie omelets, workouts at the gym, and salads with every meal made me feel like I was taking care of myself, even while on vacation (though I did also splurge and have an ooey gooey grilled cheese sandwich– on multigrain bread– and pizza– with good-for-you pesto!). Nine + hours of sleep every night was just what my body needed (my mind needed the change of scenery, I think). We also shopped and enjoyed the spa (80 minute massages and hydrating wraps are sooo luxurious!).

Sam in Maine

My beautiful Mom/BFF!

Mom in Maine

Sam and Mom selfie

I heart my Mom. I am one lucky girl!

Four days away in Maine, and back home now. Not so overjoyed to be back at work (very grateful that I have a job, but let’s face it, if I could cook and do yoga and blog and get massages every day, I sure would!), but very happy to be back home w/ SHL. Every day I’m trying to find the time to focus on my health and well-being. So if I’m not drinking my veggies or taking a nap, then I’m getting some exercise, meditating, cuddling up with SHL at home, talking to a friend, or looking for new recipes. Every day is a journey, and I just want to take this opportunity to thank you all for being on this journey with me. xoxo.

Leave a Reply

