The possibility of tomorrow

Welcome to the new You Can Handle the Truth!  While it is still the same address, as you can see, I have totally revamped the blog.  Exciting!  I hope that you love the new layout as much as I do.  Not only does it look more modern and “clean,” but you can now view the blog not only on your desk/laptop, but also on your phone or tablet as well.

I’ve also added a “welcome” and FAQs, so be sure to check it out and let me know what you think.

And with the new theme came a question of whether or not I should keep the name of the blog the same.  I knew that somewhere, I wanted the word “hope” to be present, since that has become such a huge part of my life (check out the new tagline under the site name!).  But after talking it over with some of my peeps (thank you to my friend who is an executive coach and my other friend who is an author/filmmaker!), we decided that the name still encompasses so much of what I am trying to say.  Not only am I seeking what my “truth” is (who do I want to be?  What is my purpose?), but it also still rings true that we.can.handle.it.  When you imagine somebody getting such a serious diagnosis, your immediate thought may be, “I couldn’t handle it.”  But the truth is, you could.  Because you have to.  That doesn’t minimize the tough days, when you wonder if you really are handling it and how well, but hopefully it also gets across the point that we have the power to change our lives, at any time.  (Is that what Oprah would call an “Aha moment?!”).  So what does this mean?  I hold this notion close to my heart:  We can all strive for healthier and more joyful lives.  And if today was a terrible-horrible-no-good-very-bad-day, that doesn’t mean that you can’t wake up tomorrow and start fresh.  Alexander gets to, and so do you.  (Though I too feel like moving to Australia when I have those days).

This is not to “Pollyanna” our life-changing situations.  This is not to say that I don’t still have lots of anger and fear to work through.  This is to say, every day we get a fresh chance to look at things differently.  Every day, we get the chance to choose where our focus will go to.  And no matter how busy you are, there is always the chance every day to choose, if even a moment, an experience that you can focus on, feel in-the-moment-with, and appreciate.  And if today is one of those terrible-horrible-no-good-very-bad-days, then don’t force it.  Just know that the possibility of feeling better always awaits you tomorrow.

 

Leave a Reply

