A Memorable Meal

Those of you who have seen me or spoken with me lately pretty much know that I just can’t stop talking about all things mind, body, and spirit.  Yes I love talking about the differences between juicing and blending and like hawking people to come to yoga classes with me or speaking about the benefits of meditation.  But sometimes even more than that, I adore engaging in conversations about self-love, self-compassion, and my newfound understanding (or beginning of an understanding) about just how much the limiting beliefs that we have of ourselves can affect not just the ways in which we view our challenges, but our opportunities as well.  I’ve only just scratched the surface here, but I get goosebumps when I think about expanding the love that I have for myself and arising to meet challenges with a new way of thinking.

Thankfully for me, my parent’s have been very patient with me as I spout off all kinds of interesting tidbits about how good celery is for us (playing it fast and loose with the word “interesting” perhaps!), and how when I changed a limiting belief about myself, a new occasion arose for me to actually pursue my passion of writing at my job!

Having decided that my excitement at the new things that I am learning are so much more fun when they are shared, I invited my parent’s over for lunch. I was the most excited to show them the workings of the juicer that they got me for Chanukkah this year.  They eat a lot of fruits and veggies, but they’ve never had a green juice before!  I took a great deal of care in planning out the whole lunch menu. I did some oldies but goodies (for me, they had never tried these things before) and even found a new recipe too, which of course I’ll share!

I asked that my parent’s arrive at my house with an empty stomach, since juice is best digested that way. We did spinach, cucumbers, carrots, celery, apples and lemon and since it was their first time drinking fruits and veggies this way and the celery tasted a little strong, we also threw in some strawberries at the end, which gave it a great sweet taste. They loved it!

Green Juice

After we’d had a little bit of time to digest the juice, I dug in making zucchini noodles with pesto. I’m sure that there are lots of ways to make this and I’m a beginner when it comes to cooking. Sean made a great batch of pesto (remember I said that there are tons of ways to make it? Well this time he used arugula and hazelnuts– yummy!) and after I sprialized a whole bunch of (organic) zucchini, I threw it into a pan with olive oil and salt and pepper, then scooped some of the pesto into the pan and stirred it in until warm, then served. On the side I made a new recipe (my Mom has never been the biggest quinoa fan, but I think that’s because when she’s had it in the past it was never seasoned very well) called a Caprese Quinoa Bake. I found it on Pinterest when I put “quinoa” into the search button. It’s on Pop Sugar’s website (www.popsugar.com), and you can find the recipe here: http://www.popsugar.com/food/Caprese-Quinoa-Bake-Recipe-35253600.  (I’ll also add it to the Recipes for Health and Wellness page as well).  The quinoa really takes on the flavor of whatever you bake it with; in this case mozzarella, tomatoes, basil, shallots, and garlic!  (I just used a little bit less cheese than they called for).  My ‘rents loved it so much that my Mom even asked me for the recipe!

Caprese quinoa bake

Afterwards, I made them the vegan cinnamon roll-smoothie that you all know I love so much (http://food-mouth.com/2014/07/18/cinnamon-roll-smoothie-vegan/).  They went nuts for it!  What’s not to love?  Oatmeal, almond butter, almond milk, cinnamon, frozen bananas, cocao nibs… I could go on…

I also sent them home with another new recipe.  This one for no-bake energy bites.  These are perfect for a quick snack, a sweet dessert, or even a little bit of energy before a workout!  When I’m looking for just a hint of sweetness, I find that I’m gravitating a lot towards recipes with similar ingredients… Oatmeal, peanut butter, shredded unsweetened coconut, chia seeds… The only “problem” is that these do have honey in them, so I just have to stop myself at 1 or 2!  The recipe is courtesy of Gimme Some Oven’s website, www.gimmesomeoven.com, and the recipe is found here: http://www.gimmesomeoven.com/no-bake-energy-bites/.

Eating yummy and healthy food is awesome, but enjoying it with the people who you love is really what makes a memorable meal.  Bon Appetit!! xo

 

 

Leave a Reply

