Cherry On Top

“My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style.”     Maya Angelou

It takes a lot for me to have a day where I don’t think about cancer. Even on the good days when I am manifesting abundance and having fun, it is still there.  The reminder can come in something subtle like a song on my iTunes that I associate with the summer I was diagnosed, or something sky-writing huge like getting a call at work from a client who says that their family member has a Stage IV cancer and is going to die.

I tell you this so that you will fully appreciate just how special last Saturday was, at our Second Annual Team Lozier Mini Golf Fundraiser. Though we were there specifically to raise money for the Melanoma Center at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute where I am treated, I wasn’t thinking about cancer at all (I realized later).

Yes, maybe I was too busy making sure that the day went off without a hitch; that people were enjoying themselves, that they knew where to purchase our “Help Me” golf package (those Mulligans sure come in handy!) or the opportunity drawing tickets; that everybody had something to eat and drink at the lunch afterwards at my parent’s house, that my nephew was close-by and having fun and that SHL and the rest of my family were feeling good.

Or maybe, it is just that I feel so alive when I’m with my family and friends. Nothing makes me feel happier than a sunny day with the people I love having fun.  What could be better?  Add in some grilled cheese sandwiches and ice cream sundaes and wow, what a Saturday!

I have just been absolutely blown away by the kindness, warmth, loyalty and dedication that you all have shown not just to me, but to my family as well. As I said to Kris Carr through tears last summer at the Chopra Center, “Thank you will just never seem like enough.”

How will I ever thank you?

I will thrive. I will live, and I will live a life worth living.  I will help others.  I will look after myself but I will give back, too.  I will love you and stand by you and be there for you as well.  That is how I will thank you.

It is because of YOU that I expect that we exceeded our goal even from last year! I’m in the process now of adding up our pay-to-play, “Help Me” golf package, opportunity drawing tickets, and online donations so that I can give you our grand tally (and then my parent’s will MATCH THAT DONATION DOLLAR FOR DOLLAR!).  I can’t wait to announce it soon!

So the day that we were raising money for cancer was the day that I wasn’t thinking about cancer at all.  That is just another gift that you gave me that day on top of the gifts that I had already received (monetary yes but also gifts of your hope and love).  Like the sundae wasn’t already spilling over enough, you added a big ol’ cherry on top!

You helped me to be thinking about how much I was looking forward to seeing everybody; from my work friends that I see every day to an old co-worker who I hadn’t seen in 5 years, to family friends that I only get to see a few times a year to my camp friends to my brother, sister-in-law, and nephew who flew in from MD for the occasion, to my “new friends” who have rallied around me as if they have known me forever.

I was thinking about whether or not I’d have time to play a round of mini-golf myself (I did because of the kindness of friends who helped collect money and tickets and sign people in so that I could play; my contact at the Jimmy Fund Josh and I got to play a whole round which ended in a tie!).  I was thinking about the party at my parent’s house afterward, about the kids running around enjoying the ice cream sundaes and the sun beaming brightly on us after days and days of recent rain.

I was thinking about how it fills my heart to the brim to see SHL being himself and having so much fun with people that have only been in his life since he moved here (the warmth of our Team make him feel like they have known him forever).  I was thinking about who the lucky winners would be of our opportunity drawing and our family BBQ that night, just the 7 of us.  I was thinking about getting to squeeze my pop tart nephew M and maybe read him a story that night and how happy I was to be surrounded by so many people that I deeply love.

Those of you could not attend the fundraising event—you were there in spirit. I felt ya!

So, we play golf together. We break bread together.  We’re there for each other when the chips are down, and we’re there for each other when the going gets really good. That my friends, is love.

With hope, gratitude, lots of holes-in-one, grilled cheese sandwiches and lots of ooey gooey love being sent your way,

Sam xoxo

2 thoughts on “Cherry On Top

  1. Sooooo happy that the day was such a success!! All your efforts paid off in spades!! So great!! xoxo ❤️💙

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

